The fastest way to order turning parts and milling parts

Our goal at Spanflug is to make the procurement process for turning parts and milling parts as fast and simple as possible. We want to drive digitalization in the manufacturing industry in the area of CNC turning and milling. With our online calculator, customers can calculate prices for turning parts and milling parts in less than a minute. The parts can then be ordered directly in our online shop. The conventional requests for quotations by e-mail and waiting for suppliers' offers are no longer necessary. This shortens the ordering process from often several days to just a few minutes and significantly reduces the ancillary procurement costs for turning parts and milling parts.

How it works (demo video)

Turning and milling parts Made in Germany

Your turning parts and milling parts are manufactured exclusively by qualified suppliers in Germany. As an online manufacturer, Spanflug is your single point of contact and contract partner. Our suppliers can accept manufacturing orders for turning parts and milling parts from Spanflug at the click of a mouse and thus load them into their manufacturing at short notice. In this way, we provide manufacturing companies with a digital sales channel without them having to expend their own resources. The often time-consuming preparation of quotations is eliminated, manufacturing facilities can be better utilized, and order processing and manufacturing processes can be designed more efficiently.

Expertise in the field of CNC manufacturing

Due to our extensive expertise in CNC manufacturing, we have deliberately specialized in turning parts and milling parts. Markus Westermeier, one of our founders, knows the field of CNC manufacturing from both sides. He has often experienced himself how inefficient the ordering process is for both customers and manufacturing service providers. In particular, the price calculation for turning parts and milling parts is often complex, because there are many ways to produce the parts, which have different costs. To find the most efficient way, a lot of experience is necessary. Based on our expertise and many years of experience in the field of CNC manufacturing, we have succeeded in developing an algorithm that reliably calculates prices in line with the market. Our goal is to make our customers as well as our suppliers more competitive for the future and to come to a fair pricing for both sides.

Spanflug is a spin-off from the Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management (iwb) the Technical University of Munich (TUM). Markus Westermeier had the original idea for Spanflug during his activities in the sales department of a contract manufacturing company. When it came to the implementation and development of the software, Adrian Lewis, an experienced and versatile software developer, was recruited as another member of the founding team. Immediately after the founding in January 2018, Spanflug participated in the Xpreneurs program and has since been supported by the start-up network of the UnternehmerTUM .

The management team

Adrian Lewis and Markus Westermeier

Dr. Adrian Lewis

Managing Director Software Development
(Left in picture)

Adrian Lewis completed his PhD in experimental particle physics at the University of Oxford in 2014. The focus of his work was the analysis of the large amount of data recorded at the ATLAS detector (LHC, CERN) to make a precise measurement of the probability of production (effective cross section) of W/Z bosons in proton-proton collisions. After his PhD, he worked as a software engineer at Brainlab (backend development for medical data exchange) and Cognostics (backend web development on several projects). Since founding Spanflug, he has been responsible for software architecture, web development and Dev-Ops. What excites him about Spanflug is the interface between mechanical engineering and computer science. Above all, he is excited by the possibility of using intelligent algorithms to make processes in the manufacturing industry more efficient.

Dr.-Ing. Markus Westermeier

Managing Director Manufacturing Technology & Sales
(Right in picture)

Markus Westermeier completed his doctorate at the Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management (iwb) at TUM in 2016, where he headed the department of Cutting Machine Tools. In addition, he has experience as the managing director of a manufacturing company, comprehensive manufacturing know-how, and a broad network in manufacturing technology. At Spanflug, he is responsible for the areas of manufacturing and sales. Markus developing the first idea for founding Spanflug when he was confronted with the inefficient procurement process both as a customer and as a manufacturing service provider and recognized the potential for customers as well as suppliers.

Über spanflug

Der schnellste Weg Drehteile und Frästeile zu bestellen

Unser Ziel bei spanflug ist es, den Beschaffungsprozess für Drehteile und Frästeile so schnell und einfach wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir möchten die Digitalisierung in der Fertigungsindustrie im Bereich CNC-Drehen und -Fräsen voranbringen. Mit unserem Online-Kalkulator können Kunden in weniger als einer Minute Preise für Drehteile und Frästeile kalkulieren. In unserem Online-Shop können die Teile dann direkt bestellt werden. Die herkömmlichen Angebotsanfragen per E-Mail und das Warten auf die Angebote der Lieferanten entfallen. Somit wird der Bestellprozess von oft mehreren Tagen auf wenige Minuten verkürzt und die Beschaffungsnebenkosten für Drehteile und Frästeile werden entscheidend gesenkt.

So funktioniert‘s (Demovideo)

Drehteile und Frästeile Made in Germany

Ihre Drehteile und Frästeile werden ausschließlich bei qualifizierten Lieferanten in Deutschland gefertigt. Dabei ist spanflug als Online-Fertiger Ihr Vertrags- und Ansprechpartner. Unsere Lieferanten können Fertigungsaufträge für Drehteile und Frästeile von spanflug per Klick annehmen und damit kurzfristig in ihre Fertigung einlasten. Den Fertigungsunternehmen stellen wir so einen digitalen Vertriebskanal zur Verfügung, ohne dass sie eigene Ressourcen aufwenden müssen. Die oft zeitraubende Angebotserstellung entfällt, Produktionsanlagen können besser ausgelastet und Auftragsabwicklungs- und Fertigungsprozesse effizienter gestaltet werden.

Partner werden

Expertise im Bereich CNC-Fertigung

Auf Grund unserer umfassenden Expertise im Bereich CNC-Fertigung haben wir uns bewusst auf Drehteile und Frästeile spezialisiert. Markus Westermeier, einer unserer Gründer, kennt den Bereich der CNC-Fertigung von beiden Seiten. Er hat oft selbst erlebt wie ineffizient der Bestellprozess sowohl für Kunden als auch die Fertigungsdienstleister ist. Insbesondere die Preiskalkulation für Drehteile und Frästeile ist dabei oft komplex, weil es viele Lösungswege zur Fertigung der Bauteile gibt, welche unterschiedlich aufwendig sind. Um den effizientesten Weg zu finden, ist viel Erfahrungswissen notwendig. Basierend auf unserem Fachwissen und unserer langjährigen Erfahrung im Bereich der CNC-Fertigung ist es uns gelungen, einen Algorithmus zu entwickeln, der zuverlässig marktgerechte Preise berechnet. Unser Ziel ist es dabei, unsere Kunden als auch unsere Lieferanten für die Zukunft wettbewerbsfähiger zu machen und zu einer für beide Seiten fairen Preisbildung zu kommen.

Jetzt Preis berechnen

Spanflug ist eine Ausgründung aus dem Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften (iwb) der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Markus Westermeier hatte die ursprüngliche Idee zu spanflug während seiner Tätigkeiten im Vertrieb eines Lohnfertigungsunternehmens. Als es dann an die konkrete Umsetzung und Entwicklung der Software ging, konnte mit Adrian Lewis ein erfahrener und vielseitiger Softwareentwickler als weiteres Mitglied für das Gründerteam gewonnen werden. Unmittelbar nach der Gründung im Januar 2018 nahm spanflug am Xpreneurs-Programm teil und wird seitdem vom Gründungsnetzwerk der UnternehmerTUM unterstützt.

Management-Team

Die Gründer von spanflug dem Online-Shop für Drehteile und Frästeile

Dr.-Ing. Markus Westermeier (im Bild rechts)

Geschäftsführer Fertigung und Vertrieb

Markus Westermeier hat 2016 am Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften (iwb) der TUM promoviert und leitete dort die Abteilung Spanende Werkzeugmaschinen. Darüber hinaus verfügt er über Erfahrung als Geschäftsführer eines Lohnfertigungsunternehmens für spanende Fertigung, umfassendes Produktions-Know-how sowie ein breites Netzwerk in der Produktionstechnik. Bei spanflug verantwortet er die Bereiche Fertigung und Vertrieb. Markus hat die Idee zur Gründung von spanflug maßgeblich mitentwickelt, als er sowohl als Kunde als auch als Fertigungsdienstleister mit dem ineffizienten Beschaffungsprozess konfrontiert wurde und das Potential für Kunden sowie Lieferanten erkannte.

Dr. Adrian Lewis (im Bild links)

Geschäftsführer Softwareentwicklung

Adrian Lewis hat in 2014 an der University of Oxford in experimenteller Teilchenphysik promoviert. Dabei lag der Fokus seiner Arbeit in der Auswertung der am ATLAS Detektor (LHC, CERN) aufgenommenen großen Datenmengen, um eine präzise Messung der Wahrscheinlichkeit der Erzeugung (Wirkungsquerschnitt) von W/Z-Bosonen in Proton-Proton-Kollisionen zu machen. Nach seiner Promotion war er als Software Engineer bei Brainlab (Backend Entwicklung für den Austausch von medizinischen Daten) und Cognostics (Backend Web-Entwicklung an mehreren Projekten) tätig. Seit der Gründung von spanflug verantwortet er die Bereiche Software-Architektur, Web-Entwicklung und Dev-Ops. An spanflug interessiert ihn die Schnittstelle zwischen Maschinenbau und Informatik. Vor allem begeistern ihn die Möglichkeit durch intelligente Algorithmik die Abläufe in der Fertigungsindustrie effizienter zu gestalten.