About Spanflug

Spanflug Technologies GmbH is a technology company from Munich and provider of a manufacturing platform for CNC turning and milling parts. It is our goal to make the manufacturing of individual drawing parts as quick and easy as possible for customers as well as for suppliers, thus forming the digital backbone of an efficiently networked manufacturing industry.

Spanflug Buy offers customers a fast, automated procurement process from immediate quotation to delivery on the desired date. The parts are manufactured by qualified suppliers in Germany and Austria via a network of over 5,000 CNC machines.

Spanflug Make enables manufacturing companies in the machining sector to make their administrative processes more efficient, from the preparation of quotations to purchasing, so they can concentrate on their core competence in machining.

Key data for Spanflug

1
Customers
1
CNC machines
1
Partner
1
Calculated parts

Technology as the key to fast, efficient processes

On the Spanflug platform, we provide the technological infrastructure to efficiently dovetail supply and demand across multiple stages of the supply chain, making the procurement of manufacturing parts as simple as catalog items. Through our technology-leading CAD analysis and manufacturing planning algorithm, we can effectively automate the administrative processes related to manufacturing of virtually any turning and milling part: From pricing to material procurement to selecting the perfect machine with free capacity.

oth purchasing and manufacturing companies benefit from these efficient, digital processes. Administrative efforts are reduced and the companies can concentrate on their core tasks. Our customers gain access to flexibly scalable manufacturing capacities and gain agility. Our partners can improve the utilization of their production, balance out fluctuations and build up an additional, attractive source of revenue.

Our customers gain access to flexibly scalable manufacturing capacities and gain agility. Our partners can improve the utilization of their production, balance out fluctuations and build up an additional, attractive source of revenue.

CAD analysis and calculation

Management

Dr. Adrian Lewis

Managing Director Software Development
(Left in picture)

Adrian Lewis completed his PhD in experimental particle physics at the University of Oxford in 2014. The focus of his work was to evaluate the large amount of data recorded at the ATLAS detector (LHC, CERN) to make a precise measurement of the probability of production (effective cross section) of W/Z bosons in proton-proton collisions. After his PhD, he worked as a software engineer at Brainlab and Cognostics. Since founding Spanflug, he has been responsible for software architecture, web development, and dev-ops. What interests him about Spanflug is the interface between mechanical engineering and computer science. Above all, he is excited by the possibility of using intelligent algorithms to make processes in the manufacturing industry more efficient.

Dr.-Ing. Markus Westermeier

Managing Director Manufacturing Technology & Sales
(Right in picture)

Markus Westermeier completed his doctorate at the Institute of Machine Tools and Industrial Management (iwb) at TUM in 2016, where he headed the department of Cutting Machine Tools. In addition, he has experience as managing director of a manufacturing company, comprehensive production know-how and a broad network in production engineering. At Spanflug he is responsible for manufacturing and sales. Markus Westermeier was instrumental in developing the idea for founding Spanflug when he was confronted with the inefficient procurement process both as a customer and as a manufacturing service provider and recognized the potential for both customers and suppliers.

Management

The Founder Story

Spanflug is a spin-off from the Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management (iwb) at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). Markus Westermeier had the original idea for Spanflug while working as the managing director of a contract manufacturer. Together with Johannes Schmalz, he further developed this idea to found Spanflug after completing his doctorate at the iwb. When it came to the concrete implementation and development of the software, Adrian Lewis, an experienced and versatile software developer, could be won as a further member for the founding team.

Immediately after its founding in January 2018, Spanflug participated in the Xpreneurs program and has since been supported by the start-up network of UnternehmerTUM and the Initiative for Industrial Innovators. The German Machine Tool Builders' Association (VDW) has been involved in Spanflug since 2020. 

We are currently working with 40 colleagues to realize our vision: the digitally networked supply chain for production parts.

You want to actively shape our growth strategy and drive the digitalization of the manufacturing industry with us? Then join our team!

Order turning parts and milling parts online

Spanflug Buy

You would like to order turning and milling parts easily online: Upload CAD data and drawing, get an instant quote and order online. We manufacture your parts via our network of more than 5,000 CNC machines and deliver them on the desired date from 6 working days.

CNC manufacturing

Spanflug Make

Are you a contract manufacturer and want to make your business fit for the digital future? With Spanflug Make you can get started with the digitalization of your processes from quotation costing to material purchasing free of charge and without complications and apply to become a manufacturing partner.

Über Spanflug

Die Spanflug Technologies GmbH ist ein Technologieunternehmen aus München und Betreiber einer Fertigungsplattform für CNC-Dreh- und Frästeile. Unser Ziel ist es, die Fertigung von individuellen Zeichnungsteilen für Kunden und Lieferanten so schnell und einfach wie möglich zu gestalten und so das digitale Rückgrat einer effizient vernetzten Fertigungsindustrie zu bilden.

Spanflug Buy bietet Kunden einen schnellen, automatisierten Beschaffungsprozess vom Sofortangebot bis zur Lieferung zum Wunschtermin. Die Bauteile werden über ein Netzwerk aus über 5.000 CNC-Maschinen bei qualifizierten Lieferanten in Deutschland und Österreich gefertigt.

Mit Spanflug Make können Fertigungsbetriebe aus dem Bereich Zerspanung ihre administrativen Prozesse von der Angebotserstellung bis zum Einkauf effizienter gestalten und sich so auf ihre Kernkompetenz im Fertigungsbereich konzentrieren.

Eckdaten zu Spanflug

1
Kunden
1
CNC-Maschinen
1
Partner
1
Kalkulierte Teile

Technologie als Schlüssel zu schnellen, effizienten Prozessen

Auf der Spanflug-Plattform bieten wir die technologische Infrastruktur, um Angebot und Nachfrage über mehrere Stufen der Lieferkette effizient miteinander zu verzahnen und dadurch die Beschaffung von Fertigungsteilen so einfach zu machen, wie die von Katalogartikeln. Durch unseren technologisch führenden Algorithmus zur CAD-Analyse und Fertigungsplanung können wir für nahezu jedes Bauteil die administrativen Prozesse rund um die Fertigung effektiv automatisieren: Von der Preiskalkulation über die Materialbeschaffung bis zur Auswahl der perfekten Maschine mit freier Kapazität.

Von diesen effizienten, digitalen Prozessen profitieren sowohl Einkauf als auch Fertigungsbetriebe. Beide Seiten werden im administrativen Bereich entlastet und können sich auf ihre Kernaufgaben konzentrieren.

Unsere Kunden erhalten Zugang zu flexibel skalierbaren Fertigungskapazitäten und gewinnen an Agilität. Unsere Partner können die Auslastung ihrer Fertigung verbessern, Schwankungen ausgleichen und eine zusätzliche, attraktive Umsatzquelle aufbauen.

CAD-Analyse und Kalkulatoon

Management

Dr. Adrian Lewis

Geschäftsführer Softwareentwicklung
(Links im Bild)

Adrian Lewis hat in 2014 an der University of Oxford in experimenteller Teilchenphysik promoviert. Dabei lag der Fokus seiner Arbeit in der Auswertung der am ATLAS Detektor (LHC, CERN) aufgenommenen großen Datenmengen, um eine präzise Messung der Wahrscheinlichkeit der Erzeugung (Wirkungsquerschnitt) von W/Z-Bosonen in Proton-Proton-Kollisionen zu machen. Nach seiner Promotion war er als Software Engineer bei Brainlab und Cognostics tätig. Seit der Gründung von Spanflug verantwortet er die Bereiche Software-Architektur, Web-Entwicklung und Dev-Ops. An Spanflug interessiert ihn die Schnittstelle zwischen Maschinenbau und Informatik. Vor allem begeistern ihn die Möglichkeit, durch intelligente Algorithmik die Abläufe in der Fertigungsindustrie effizienter zu gestalten.

Dr.-Ing. Markus Westermeier

Geschäftsführer Fertigungstechnik & Vertrieb
(Rechts im Bild)

Markus Westermeier hat 2016 am Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften (iwb) der TUM promoviert und leitete dort die Abteilung Spanende Werkzeugmaschinen. Darüber hinaus verfügt er über Erfahrung als Geschäftsführer eines Fertigungsbetriebes, umfassendes Produktions-Know-how sowie ein breites Netzwerk in der Produktionstechnik. Bei Spanflug verantwortet er die Bereiche Fertigung und Vertrieb. Markus Westermeier hat die Idee zur Gründung von Spanflug maßgeblich mitentwickelt, als er sowohl als Kunde als auch als Fertigungsdienstleister mit dem ineffizienten Beschaffungsprozess konfrontiert wurde und das Potenzial für Kunden sowie Lieferanten erkannte.

Management

Die Gründerstory

Spanflug ist eine Ausgründung aus dem Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften (iwb) der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Markus Westermeier hatte die ursprüngliche Idee zu Spanflug während seiner Tätigkeit als Geschäftsführer eines Lohnfertigers. Gemeinsam mit Johannes Schmalz hat er diese Idee zur Gründung von Spanflug nach seiner Promotion am iwb weiterentwickelt. Als es dann an die konkrete Umsetzung und Entwicklung der Software ging, konnte mit Adrian Lewis ein erfahrener und vielseitiger Softwareentwickler als weiteres Mitglied für das Gründerteam gewonnen werden.

Unmittelbar nach der Gründung im Januar 2018 nahm Spanflug am Xpreneurs-Programm teil und wird seitdem vom Gründungsnetzwerk der UnternehmerTUM und der Initiative for Industrial Innovators unterstützt. Seit 2020 ist der Verein Deutscher Werkzeugmaschinenfabriken (VDW) an Spanflug beteiligt. 

Aktuell arbeiten wir mit 40 Kolleginnen und Kollegen an der Realisierung unserer Vision: Die digital vernetzte Lieferkette für Fertigungsteile.

Du hast Lust unsere Wachstums-Strategie aktiv mitzugestalten und mit uns die Digitalisierung der Fertigungsindustrie voranzutreiben?  Dann komm in unser Team!

Drehteile und Frästeile online bestellen

Spanflug Buy

Sie möchten Dreh- und Frästeile einfach online bestellen? CAD-Daten und Zeichnungen hochladen, Sofortangebote abrufen und online bestellen. Wir fertigen Ihre Bauteile über unser Netzwerk aus mehr als 5.000 CNC-Maschinen und liefern sie zum Wunschtermin ab 6 Arbeitstagen.

CNC-Fertigung

Spanflug Make

Sie sind Lohnfertiger und möchten Ihren Betrieb fit für die digitale Zukunft machen? Mit Spanflug Make können Sie kostenlos und unkompliziert in die Digitalisierung Ihrer Prozesse von der Angebotskalkulation bis zum Materialeinkauf einsteigen und sich als Fertigungspartner bewerben.